Hope & Family

I’m going to work on moving my blog posts over from my old, neglected blog. 

“Hope holds a breaking heart together.” –Ann Voskamp
These words are truth. And I think I would add “family” as well. Hope and family hold a breaking heart together.

I keep thinking of my time at home in Pennsylvania. I flew out last week unexpectedly, because my Grandma passed away. It was a huge shock – I’m still shocked – but I hurried home and was able to be there for the services and be with my family during this difficult time. I will forever be grateful that I was able to be there. I keep thinking of how my family pulled together. My immediate family, my might-as-well-be immediate family, my tons of cousins, my married-into family, my true blue friends from near & not so near… Now that I’ve had some time to reflect on it, I want to try to put into words how grateful I am for that.

I think Grandma would be proud of you all. The way you all gathered around to support, hug, and love us. I’ve never felt so close to all of you and I think that shows how God has a way of bringing people together when they need it the most. It is an indescribable blessing to know that I’m not alone in my grief – I know you’re all grieving too, and it’s not that it makes it happy, but it makes me feel less alone. The burden last week was so great, it’s still so great, but you all helped in carrying it. Thank you, so much.

  

And Grandma, I know it all would have made you smile. I love your smile and your laugh, your entire sense of humor. You had a heart of gold and I know you’ll live on in each of us, even those who don’t directly share your genes. You’ll be in all of our hearts. And I know you’re in Paradise. Blessed assurance is blessed indeed. I love you.

— First published on October 10, 2014.

Leave a Reply

